So on Saturday before I started my pickle I was bought a spiraliser. Having no patients and being all excited I “spiralised” two courgettes and a carrot (Ii didn’t have anything else suitable).  Its a great gadget and will be often used . Any way I had loads of courgette with no use.  After processing my planned jars I had some pickling liquid left over. Not wanting to let it go to waste I quickly cleaned and sterilised another jar. Filled it with my spiralised carrot and courgette and topped it off with the vinegar.  I decided to put in a chilli pepper, I stabbed some holes into it and stuffed it into the jar, I didn’t think it would add any flavored but it did look nice . I didn’t bother processing because the courgette was so fine I figured it would go mushy. I just stuck it into the fridge.
Last night I decided to crack it open. It smelled quite similar to any store bought pickle. Feeling pretty proud I dived in. The flavours were awesome tangy slightly sweet and beautifully crunchy…..Then came the spice!  Maybe the whole chilli was a bit much but still really good.

I think they would be fab on a burger.   That’s my next mission. I make veggie mushroom, chick pea and bean burgers for the bbq. I think some pickled courgette, blue cheese and lettuce would make them amazing!
I’ll keep you posted. My recipe for the burgers is just a bit of this and a bit of that but I’ll put it into words as much as possible.

Leave a comment